There is an ongoing discussion on the RacerMate forum about the lack of software development to support users of the VELOtron cycle trainer, these were my thoughts, posted today.

KEYWORDS: RacerMate, CompuTrainer, VELOtron, PerfPRO, Golden Cheetah, TrainerRoad

-> CharleyR

I applaud your efforts to bring some clarity to things. One of the major issues is the apparently never-ending "under discussion" "being worked through" "under consideration" responses we always seem to be stuck with. I would certainly feel very differently if we knew what was and was not going to be available to users and users could then make their own informed decisions. If for example I KNEW that RacerMate were going to "allow" the likes of PerfPRO, TrainerRoad etc. to work with the VELOtron I would stick with it. The problem I, and I suspect you also, face is the constant unknown. If I KNEW that my VELOtron was NOT going to be able to be used with PerfPRO I would put in place arrangement to sell it immediately because I feel I am really being left behind in terms of the training packages available to me when we know, from the ErgVideo experience, that there is no technical reason why this can't happen.

What I find so amazing is that the ability to use alternative packages with a core unit (in this case the CompuTrainer or VELOtron) is an extremely powerful incentive to buyers to buy the core product and the inability to so so is an equally powerful disincentive. Fewer and fewer people, it seems to me, are willing to pay top $ for something that is apparently stagnant and it showing no real signs of inter-operability. Sadly I have been a long time user and supporter of the CompuTrainer and VELOtron but that support is rapidly waning as I fall victim to a lack of development and an adherence to a largely closed systems approach. There are just too many options becoming available to buyers these days and one of the key selling points is having plenty of options.