Wanted to change the file format for saving screenshots on the Mac for something I was fiddling with and it turned out to be surprisingly easy, this is the solution I found:

1. Launch Terminal, located at /Applications/Utilities.

2. Type or copy/paste the following commands into the Terminal window. Press the return or enter key after you enter each line of text:

defaults write com.apple.screencapture type jpg

killall SystemUIServer

The above commands will set the file format to JPG. You can use any of the following for the value following "Type" in the first command above: jpg, tiff, gif, png, or pdf.

Easy morning pottering about but then had some matters to attend to in Newcastle so set off into town after lunch. Lorena doing sterling work getting ready for our trip and also wanted to do some clarinet practice so this was a solo journey.

Managed to find pretty much everything I wanted in Newcastle and bumped into some friends, Baz and Kevin from the Tyneside Vagabonds Cycling Club which was nice. Bought some inner tubes, needed some with a 60mm valve length as the ones if currently have are for either deeper or shallower rims these should be just the job. For some reason I always seem to end up with the wrong tube when I need one, seems to be a problem plenty of folks have from past observations!

Lorena out at the concert band this evening so I spent some time getting all my stuff ready for the trip. Also did some experimenting with different white balance settings on my video camera, I think these colour cards are going to be very useful and I'm looking forward to shooting some trial clips with them if we get some decent weather.

Sounds as if the weather is still pretty good out in Majorca so just hoping against hope that it will stay that way and that I can build a little fitness during this trip, I'll try anyway.

Social media and other posts appear below this line.

Twitter Updated: October 06, 2014 at 10:28AM @tyabblemons @postachio Thanks for that, have posted my thoughts as a disqus comment, personal preference I guess but good to have options!

Facebook Updated: Steven Gilligan http://ift.tt/1s2eUG0 Vacancy: university lecturer. Must be able to read a .pdf out loud that everyone else in the room is capable of reading themselves. Salary: £outrageous p.a.

Twitter Updated: October 06, 2014 at 11:05AM @The_Cycle_Hub Now that is a work of art, I could almost drink one of those, if you twisted my arm :-)

Twitter Updated: October 06, 2014 at 05:39PM @firsthippy Wow! That's a serious ripoff! We are doing the same as you and taking our TomTom with us, and a map :-)

Twitter Updated: October 06, 2014 at 11:06PM @firsthippy Hmm, no expert with TomTom tech but the maps are not proper maps, more of a schematic representation if that makes sense?

Facebook Updated: This Will Give You True Perspective About the World http://ift.tt/1vJu4xY Just to give you an idea of what the world really is... I loved this, sure puts things into perspective!