Another good day with Marmot Tours on the Raid Alpine :-) The weather was once again kind to us as we crossed first the Col d'Iseran (2764m) and then the Col du Mont Cenis (2086m). I could definitely feel the altitude on the Col d'Iseran, something I've not noticed so far but there will be more of that to come!

For some of the day I was convinced that it was going to rain but it held off for us and the views on both of the climbs were spectacular. Lorena and I will I hope be out here in due course in a campervan and that will be excellent, might be an idea to drive the route of The Raid just for the enjoyment of it, without the exertion :-)

Tomorrow's first climb is the climb from the hotel up to the ski station at Sestriere. We were given the option, if we felt we wanted to, to tack the climb onto the end of today's ride which would make for a shorter day with less climbing tomorrow, and a lie in :-)

I decided to take that option so tomorrow's first climb for me is now done, so tomorrow I have the Col de Montgenevre (1865m) followed by the mighty Col d'Izoard (2361m) to deal with. These will be followed by a far from insignificant climb at the end of the ride up to Vars, our stop for the night at the end of day 4.

So all going well so far and in terms of days ridden I'm at the half way point, onward!