Took the Vauxhall Corsa up to Tustain Motors this morning to get the brake discs replaced, the bill came to about £175 so things could have been far worse. Interesting that the garage said that this work needed to be done 18 months ago, glad we didn't have it done when they first recommended it.

After our trip to the garage we popped into Sainsbury's and had a cup of coffee and a tea cake which we enjoyed. Bought a copy of the Daily Mail as there seems to be a good article about walking and the enormous health benefits of it.

Spent most of the day today working my way through and around the measurement of Heart Rate Variability (HRV) and the use of the data gathered to guide training. I pretty much seem to have sorted out how to gather the data and have got my old systems from 2007 up and running. Ended up writing to a chap in Finland who I corresponded with back in 2007, trying to enlist his help getting a system off the ground to try and analyse the data. Really hope I hear from the guy but who know, I may well be left to struggle on solo.

Heard today that Stuart (Hippy) Birnie abandoned his LeJog ride somewhere around Penrith. I'm just glad he is safe and sound but I think he must be pretty gutted by the whole thing as he had built his season around it. I honestly think he just wore himself out.

Delighted that Lorena is starting to feel much better and I'm hoping that she wil be back to 100% tomorrow. For myself, I am definitely starting to feel better than I have for some while. I'm not exactly sure why that is but my short list of possible reasons is below.
  • Getting up earlier.
  • Drinking more fluids.
  • Taking two fish oil capsules.
  • Taking zinc and vitamin C tablets.
  • Drinking tomato juice regularly.
  • Recommenced cycle training.
All in all a good day, in the Pistorious trial he has been found not guilty of premeditated murder but the judge has not said whether he is guilty or not guilty of culpable homicide, we would call it manslaughter. Tomorrow should reveal all.

PDF HRV report from Kubios Software available for download here:

Social media and other posts appear below this line.

Twitter Updated: September 11, 2014 at 12:09PM Anyone else having problems logging in to @TrainingPeaks? Seemed Ok here a few minutes ago but getting nowhere now :-(

Facebook Updated: September 11, 2014 at 02:06PM Can't see the point of buying V8 vegetable juice when it's double the cost of tomato juice but is about 90% tomato juice. Lidl tomato juice for me :-)

Twitter Updated: September 11, 2014 at 02:03PM @TrainingPeaks Thanks for the reply. Not sure why I'm having a problem, seems OK using FireFox but unable to use Safari at present.

Facebook Updated: September 11, 2014 at 05:11PM Investigating the Kubios HRV software, I last went down this route about four years ago and it still strains my brain.