Been a busy day today, for the most part I have been getting ready for the sailing trip, seems to take me ages to get all my gear together! Lorena has been absolutely fantastic as always keeping me on track and making sure that my stuff is all ready for the trip. Sometimes her energy is very impressive and I am very grateful for it.

Didn't bother to go out walking today, too much to do really and since I won't be walking for a week there seemed little point, on top of that is rained for much of the day anyway.

Finally pretty much packed and heard from Glen Hogg to say that we would be leaving about 19:00 which seemed pretty late for him after a long day at work. I reckoned we would end up arriving at about 23:00 in the dark so I suggested that it might be better all round if he got a good rest and a meal and that we set off refreshed in the morning which he seemed to think would be a better plan so we are leaving at 09:00.. Not quite sure what he really things about it but I'm sure it's the best thing to do.

Had a laugh at a programme about a cruise ship, Lorena and I thought we looked rather like the two characters on the left and right of this picture, taken on my iPad directly off the TV!

It was a right hassle getting all my stuff ready with batteries, chargers, cameras, iPad, MacBook etc. all requiring a lot of thinking about if I am going to get the most out of this trip. I just don't know whether I will get the chance to go sailing again, almost certainly not on a boat like this with just the skipper there, so I really want to try to make the best of the opportunity in terms of getting some video material. I just hope it all works out Ok and that we get on well.

Part of my problem is my desire to try to do things well and also the fact that I do different things so I never really get into a pattern of having all the right stuff available. I might be sailing or camping or walking or cycling or in the caravan and all these things require different gear in terms of what you can or cannot take with you. It wears me down sometimes but it's better than the alternative so I'm going to keep ploughing on!

Social media and other posts appear below this line.

Facebook Updated: August 01, 2014 at 03:45PM Exciting stuff today, pretty much ready to blast off for this out-of-the-blue sailing week. Heading up to Inverkip Marina of the West Coast of Scotland later today, it's going to be exciting! Hope the boat can cope with all the stuff I've packed :-) Hope to be able to shoot some decent video clips to look back on in the future, hopefully from above the surface.

Twitter Updated: August 01, 2014 at 05:25PM Facebook is not working. I guess the big question facing us is what will society do now? Talk to each other maybe!

Facebook Updated: Scenes in Alnwick Some street scenes shot in the historic market town of Alnwick in Northumberland on a beautiful sunny afternoon. This video is managed by Newsflare. To use t... Some video clips shot the other day around Alnwick, thought I'd better capture it whilst the sun was out!