Today's stage was hard, very hard, and hot, very hot. The hors category ascent of the Port de Pailheres was described in the programme as "gruelling" – by the end of it I felt well and truly "gruelled". That climb done the fun and games of the category one climb to Ax 3 Domaines was the real icing on the cake with some very steep pitches to deal with, this was no picnic. Well, if it was a picnic I've just gone off picnics completely.

Mentally now I have decided that the best way to approach these climbs is definitely steadily and to fix in my mind that the top is not moving. Based on this as the top is static if I am still moving the end is sure to come, eventually :-)

After the finish there was a long drive to our hotel in Pamiers but at least this will mean that we should get a good start in the morning, for another very challenging day.

I remain very pleased with how my recovery strategy, particularly the use of the SKINS RY400 compression clothing is helping me keep going. I'm not sure how I would feel if I stopped using these products but I've definitely reached the point where I would not consider not bothering to wear them. I'm sure there would be a marked deterioration in my morning recovery status if I did stop bothering to put them on each night. It's noticeable even without looking hard into the data that so far on the Tour de Velo I am managing to maintain my power generating capacity even riding at a controlled intensity, and this is down to effective recovery.

Took a call around midday from BBC Radio Newcastle and it was great to be in the middle of The Pyrenees and being asked live on air how things were going. It's terrific feeling that people are interested in what I am trying to do and if just one person decides that they can change their life and have a crack at something a bit challenging and different that will be a real result as far as I am concerned. I believe The BBC want to get in touch again when I am further along my journey which will be smashing, just hope everything continues to pan out Ok here, I'm trying not to think too far ahead, I don't want to tempt fate.

Anyway, another very challenging day ahead tomorrow, steady away will be the plan, it's worked so far and I'm not changing it now. Thank you once again for dropping in and for your messages of support, they make one heck of a difference.

Photographs from Today:

Sunflower fields soon after the departure from Revel.
Scenery just past Chalabre, this was where the BBC Radio Newcastle interview was done!
Horses blocking the road on the hors category Port de Pailheres climb.
Ax-Les-Thermes in the evening sun from the climb to Ax 3 Domaines.

Today's Weather:

Lovely morning but very hot in the afternoon, 30 degrees again, which was of course when all the climbing had to be done.

Ride Time: 11:34 hh:mm
Work Done: 4695kJ
Training Stress Score: 325
Intensity Factor: 0.579
Normalised Power: 177W
Variability Index: 1.31
Ride Distance: 116 miles
Elevation Gain: About 14,000 feet
Maximum Power: 683W
Average Power: 134W
Average Heart Rate: 115bpm
Average Speed - True: 10.1mph
Acute Training Load: 240.8
Chronic Training Load: 141.8
Training Stress Balance: -92.8